Backpacking Adventure

I’m heading out, this morning, to enjoy an overnight (possibly two nights) adventure in the Santa Catalina mountain range, Tucson, AZ. I expect to explore the southern most range/ridge. At best I only expect an approximate 3600′ elevation gain, trailhead is 3120′. There’s no water whatsoever in the front range and thus I’m carrying close to 10L. I’m close enough to home so that if I’m running low on water I’m able to head back down to safety.

The weather forecasts to be exceptional so this ought to be a comfortable journey. I’m maintaining a light-weight pack, as light as I possibly can, considering the lack of available water, elevation gain and warmer temperatures. Once I’ve exploited all the resources I’ve packed I expect ultra-light travel for the steep, tough terrain down from the ridge.

As you may not know I had knee surgery early last Spring. My knee continues to be bothersome each day, some moments much worse than others, requiring me to maintain a pack as lightweight as possible, especially for travel requiring steep elevation loss.

Following my adventure I’ll post a few pictures and include some highlights… see you in a couple of days!

Reach Your Summit

Published by

Wild Drake

Coming soon: Exquisitely perfected, Health Conscious, Travel & Trail Cuisine. We may be Organic, non-GMO, Grain-free, Gluten-free, Nutrient-dense and Delicious. We may also be Vegetarian and/or Vegan but certainly not limited to such... For the Omnivore we may offer Grass-fed, Free-Range, Cage-free, etc., when available. Bottom line... We intend on offering the very best in Conscious Trail Cuisine! We love it and believe you will too.

Leave a Reply

