Today David and I are heading out for a Day Hike in the Catalina Mountains, which…

Today we are heading out for a day hike in the Catalina Mountains, which are practically right outside our back door. Many people are getting together to watch the Superbowl this afternoon but not us! The weather should be a perfect 60 degrees and the trails beckon. The vistas are outstanding and each twist and turn of the pathway provides another breathtaking moment. You can see the surrounding rugged mountains, enticing valleys, and Tucson sprawls out beneath you, providing a remarkable contrast.

I am extremely sensitive to contrast and textures. The desert is particularly alluring to me because of all of the different forms of beauty, life, and the visuals are almost tactile. I enjoy running my hand across the outcroppings, the bark of the alligator junipers, the coarse sand, and yet I try desperately to avoid the chollas and assorted cacti. I love the strength and security in David’s hand when he holds mine and helps me through the tough parts. The Catalinas are rocky and yet there is a moderate amount of vegetation that softens it slightly. The brilliant blue sky leans downward over the distant hills, muting their edges and making me wonder what we could see from out there. I don’t have David’s innate and slightly eerie sense of direction and I always have to verify with him exactly which ranges we are gazing upon. I make mental notes of the places that inspire me.

I always look forward to the adventure and the Catalinas never fail to deliver. They are steep and the path is challenging at times but around mid-morning, we will stop and admire the scenery and David will make cups of ProMotion™ for us to sip. He always does our ‘cooking’ when we are hiking (reason #347 why I like to hike) and not only is it an incredible experience but the ProMotion will give us the perfect nutritional boost to keep us going until lunch. He cooks that too! Life is good out here.

ProMotion is very dear to my heart because I am always looking for ways to incorporate more protein into my diet. I have been a vegetarian for over twenty years (my parents are still surprised that I haven’t died from it) and while there are many wonderful sources of plant protein, I especially appreciate those which are tasty, quick, and satisfying. ProMotion does that for me and that’s also why we developed a version without caffeine so at any time, I can still indulge my need for a warm, soothing beverage but get a substantial nutritional bonus as well. Originally, I am from Washington State and have a lifelong habit of having a mug of something comforting in my hand to ward off the gray dreariness. It certainly is neither gray nor dreary in Arizona but my hand still reaches for the cup. Today, that vessel will be brimming with steamy ProMotion while I drown my senses in the views and become enamored with all the offerings and potential that the world holds. Whatever that hill is out there, it’s next on my list. It’s MY summit…what’s yours?

 Janice

Published by

Wild Drake

Coming soon: Exquisitely perfected, Health Conscious, Travel & Trail Cuisine. We may be Organic, non-GMO, Grain-free, Gluten-free, Nutrient-dense and Delicious. We may also be Vegetarian and/or Vegan but certainly not limited to such... For the Omnivore we may offer Grass-fed, Free-Range, Cage-free, etc., when available. Bottom line... We intend on offering the very best in Conscious Trail Cuisine! We love it and believe you will too.

Leave a Reply

